Jason Becker Documentary

Posted by Shin_Akuma

I found a documentary on him, enjoy. http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=1775128028743135037&q=jason+becker

I am convinced that Jason becker was the greatest guitarist,ever. maybe the greatest there ever will be. Stupid ALS.....

Posted by Pit

God, I read his bio not too long ago, but man... Jason Becker was one of the reasons I started playing. Perpetual Burn, him in Cacophony... amazing ****.

I seriously almost started crying, but you know, held it in :(

****ing... ALS.

Posted by MetalVox~55

Quoting Shin_Akuma: I am convinced that Jason becker was the greatest guitarist,ever. maybe the greatest there ever will be.

Vai?

Posted by Shin_Akuma

Quoting MetalVox~55: Vai?

While Vai is a fantastic guitarist, I am convinced Becker is better. Vai might be a little better at finger tapping, but all around Guitarist i'd say Becker>Vai.

Posted by Shin_Akuma

Another becker video. Playng with a yoyo while playing guitar...amazing.
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=6341116702386742329&q=guitar+solo

Posted by MetalVox~55

Quoting Shin_Akuma: Another becker video. Playng with a yoyo while playing guitar...amazing.
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=6341116702386742329&q=guitar+solo

Ok, I watched this. And the only thing that stood out at me was when he grabbed the neck above and did the legato runs. Other than that, I wasn't all that impressed by it. Sue me, but stuff like that doesn't phase me as much as what Vai has done on the G3 dvds and what he does on his albums.

Posted by Crazy Canuck

Consider this: Steve Vai is 45 years old and Jason Becker was 20 when he was diagnosed with ALS.

There's no doubt Steve Vai has had the better career but I think Jason had more pure, technical skill. To me, the Serrana arpeggio section is like a 47 second orgasm. I can't play it but I get the lead guitarist in my band to play it everytime we jam.