Help please?

Posted by Prince Redon

Ok, I know there are several Metalheads, and all on this site, and plenty who play, so I figured why not ask some people with experience. I just started to play the guitar. I have a Squier SE100 Strat Electric Guitar, (not the best I'm sure, but hey I'm just starting out..I've talked to a few people and they said Fender, and Squier are nice guitars...) and I've been practicing on it. So to the question...

What are some easy songs to play? Remember I only know what I've taught myself...So I don't know much, I can read tabs, and all, but like some instructions read something about "Play a powercord" I'm not sure what that is...

Yes laugh now, but we all started somewhere, weather you taught yourself or not...I may look stupid asking these questions, but I'm willing to pay that price to learn.

Posted by G-Sides

If you haven't even made it to power chords yet, try...

Come As You Are - Nirvana
Blister In The Sun - Violent Femmes
Never There - Cake
Going The Distance - Cake
Most Cake songs - Cake

Posted by sabre

Dream Theater - Ytse Jam

Posted by TheSecondComing

I recommend getting lessons for a while until you learn the basics (ie: power chords and the like). After that it's far easier to teach yourself.

Posted by Richaod

Quoting Sabredog: Dream Theater - Ytse Jam

...I wouldn't recommend that to a beginner, not even the start of it.

Any Nirvana or The Darkness is really easy though. I'd suggest some of that, then eventually move on to something like the Smells Like Teen Spirit solo which is ridiculously easy and took me about a month (from when I started learning guitar) to be able to play.

Oh, then go on to School of Rock or Master Of Puppets. The rhythm guitar part of Master Of Puppets is especially useful.

Also, definitely learn how to read music, and some general, basic music theory or a lot of blind flailing will take place.

Posted by TheSecondComing