Banjo Kazooie (Key in the walrus cave?)

Posted by Sean Fury

I just started playing BK again, and I came across this key in Freezezzy Peak inside of the walrus' cave (can't remember his name). The key is behind what looks like a wall of ice, and I can't break through it, what am I supposed to do with it?

Posted by Klarth

Nothing.

Basically, the original plan for the game was that when Banjo Tooie and Donkey Kong 64 were released, you'd be able to change cartridge mid-game to collect the key and use it in the sequel / DK64. This was unfortunately scrapped as Rare couldn't figure out a method to allow the gamer to change cart.

http://rarewitchproject.com/specials.php?id=dk64sns
http://rarewitchproject.com/specials.php?id=bkcastlecodes

Posted by Sean Fury

Quoting Majesty: Nothing.

Basically, the original plan for the game was that when Banjo Tooie and Donkey Kong 64 were released, you'd be able to change cartridge mid-game to collect the key and use it in the sequel / DK64. This was unfortunately scrapped as Rare couldn't figure out a method to allow the gamer to change cart.

http://rarewitchproject.com/specials.php?id=dk64sns
http://rarewitchproject.com/specials.php?id=bkcastlecodes

Thanks for info, it was starting to really bug me. Too bad their idea never went through, maybe if they made a BK and a DK game on the GC they could do it, download memory card data and what-not. I'm sure that would be a big hit.

Posted by Klarth

Rare no longer make games for Nintendo consoles outside of the occasional GBA contribution. They seceded after Starfox Adventures, hence Kameo: Elements of Power is now an Xbox 360 release.

Posted by Sean Fury

Quoting Majesty: Rare no longer make games for Nintendo consoles outside of the occasional GBA contribution. They seceded after Starfox Adventures, hence Kameo: Elements of Power is now an Xbox 360 release.