Now Playing? (on an instrument!!!!)

Posted by Bj Blaskowitz

what are you currently trying to play? Which instrument(s)? How far along? How well can you play it? Be honest!!!!

I'm currently halfway through Classical Gas, by Eric Clapton. It's a real biotch, and I've been playing it for 5 months or so now. It was the first song I decided to learn, so I'm doing alright. I can play 1/4 of it flawlessly, trudge through the next 1/4, and no idea on the rest.

Also, I'm learning Another Lonely Day, by Ben Harper. It's relatively easy, and I just started, but so far I'm about 10 measures into it and it's not that bad.

Just started playing Rhiannon by Fleetwood Mac today too, it doesn't SEEM too hard thus far.

I'm also trying to play Layla by Eric Clapton, I can play the electric guitar version easily (it's pretty **** easy) but the MTV Unplugged version, where he uses an acoustic is givin me problems. He goes off on bluesy rampages that are unreal, and the electric version has 3 guitars so I can bull**** it and say "hey, I don't have backups!!" I need to just take a year on it like I have on CG to get it down, hah.

Last, but not least, I can play Silent Lucidity by Queensryche with semi ease (not hard), and I am trying to play What it is, by Mark Knopfel, and it's not that tough but I'm only like 20 measures into it. I just need to get the styles down and whatnot.

These are all on guitar, by the way.

Posted by NegativeTrend

Trying to master Wish You Were Here by Pink Floyd on the guitar. Know the song I just forget the chords and parts of the solos sometimes. Also working on the organ to guitar version of Light My Fire by The Doors. Not very far in that one though.

Posted by Richaod

All on piano:

One Last Time - Dream Theater - obviously just the intro. I can't play it in as decorated a fashion as Jordan Rudess, but decently, and I've worked out my own way to play the 1337 bit.
The Four Horsemen - Metallica - both solos on guitar, and they sound great.