Ask a Sailor

Posted by Lord of Spam

So about a week late, I'm going to jump on the "ask..." bandwagon with something that none of the other faggots can offer: the military view.

Ask anything you want, and I'll answer (ask a stupid question, expect a stupid answer). Some things to keep in mind: I'm in the navy. Dont ask me about the army/airforce/marines. I dont know about them, I'm not in them. Feel free to ask about what I do for the navy, but dont expect too many specifics, because most of what I do is classified (before anyone asks the obvious, I'm a mechanic on nuclear powerplants). I haven't been in terribly long (even though it feels like it [little over a year to be specific]).

So, any questions?

Posted by Vampiro V. Empire

marines have oorah, army has hooah, what does the boat force have?

Posted by Lord of Spam

hooyah

also, boat refers to a vessel which is incapable of ocean travel*, ships are vessles which are large enough, sturdy enough, and stable enough for open ocean travel. The coast guard has boats, we have ships.

*subs are also called boats as a joke that they arent seaworthy. go figure

wow, you boat force fags sure got the short end of the stick with those chants, eh?

Posted by Lord of Spam

Nobody really uses them all that much. Its more of a "oh hey something kinda nice happened, sarcasm mode engaged" HOOYAH

so when do you start flying some subs for months at a time? Ever?

Posted by Lord of Spam

Ive got about 5 months left in prototype. At the end of that I'll be qualified as a full radiation worker and allowed to stand watch on any nuke vessel in the navy. I've requested orders for fast attack subs stations mostly in pearl harbor or guam, so chances are i'll be somewhere very warm this time next year; either on a lovely beach, or in a 110 degree engine room.

Posted by Shade

how gay does your uniform look? scale of 1-10

Posted by cool gamer dad