Advice: Help Today

Posted by Kaise Suratu

Here's the Story:

I need advice for making cash. I'm 17 years old, and looking for a good solution. I have a job but my hours cut down from 30 to 15, to 8.0, to 7, and now 6.5 with minimal wage [new g.m is making people quit]. I've been working here for about 5 months and promised a 1$ raise within the next month, however, our new G.M said I'd only get a 25 cent raise within 6 months. The old G.M I worked with said in 30 days she'd talk to her boss about giving me a raise, but that didn't happen. Now I have to wait and my raise will be 25 cents. It's bull-**** I'm not about money whatsoever, but I have to make a living by helping pay rent and bills.

*I've worked 7.5 hours in ONE day, with a 30 minute break, and now I get 6 a week? Plus I really wouldn't consider my self a bad employee.*

Okay I'm done with my rant.
Now I need some real help.

I understand in order to get more cash I'd have to fix this problem. I need to either quit, stick it out for another month and see if my hours will raise, or find 2-3 jobs. I go to school from 7:45 to 4:30 when I get home, and I'm thinking about finding an 8$ an hour job with intermediate hours, which leaves certain days open for other jobs while staying with my old job.

While I'm still in high school, and under 17 what should I do?

Any suggestions?

Posted by Xenos

Out of curiosity, why is it that you need cash so desperately? Just to save or for tuition?

Posted by Kaise Suratu

I need to worry about helping my parents pay rent and bills. I had about a 250$ pay check every two weeks and half of that went to my parent's bills.

Posted by Lord of Spam

get a job busing tables at a place that lets you get a cut of the tip. you will only make like $2 an hour, but the tips should more than make up for it. Plus, after a while there, you should be able to talk them into letting you wait on tables and make even more money.