Fantasy author looking for opinions

Posted by MJH

Hi everyone,

I’m very happy to say that I’ve just had my debut novel published and would love to swap thoughts and opinions on what makes a compelling read. Obviously, some of my motivation is market research, but if I don't ask people who are interested in books who can I ask! With this in mind, what do you think attracts a potential reader? Would it be the front cover (a link to mine can be found in my signature) or is it more likely to be on the strength of the synopsis? Just how important is the cover art and what really determines our decision to invest the time to actually sit down and read a book? As a new author, I feel these questions are very important, so any insights you can give will be greatly appreciated. It may help me not to make the same mistakes if I ever get around to writing another one! :)

Posted by S

If you're looking for art, my honest opinion is to not make it look like something that's cliche. If a book looks like something I don't care for, I typically won't pick it up. Yeah, yeah, don't judge a book by its cover but it's an undeniable truth, that's how the human mind works. I like fantasy but the old elves, dwarves and dragons are all burnt out.

My honest thoughts are that the darker aspect of a book typically draws me into it, so a book cover relaying the atmosphere and possibly combined with symbolism (That everyone understands, not just someone who has read it.) would be a massive aid.

As far as the synopsis goes, I figure that comes after the cover. Not sure what to say about that though.

Posted by MJH

Thanks for replying. I agree with you and having been thinking about it, I feel that while a strong cover may encourage someone to take a closer look at a book, it's really the synopsis that counts. If you get a chance to check it out, I've posted my own synopsis at the link in my signature. It would be great to get some feedback on it.

Posted by Bj Blaskowitz