Keyboards

Posted by Vampnagel P. Wingpire

Not sure if anyone really plays piano/keyboard but if anyone does, what keyboard do you have and do you like it? I'm looking to get (another) one. Yamaha most likely (although a Korg would be wicked. Not a nice pricetag, though). Something really lightweight, that has multiple track recordability, usb port, pitch bend wheel, sustain pedal, large-ish amount of 'voices' etc. Nothing insanely expensive (not wanting to go over $350 or so) but something of decent quality.

Posted by Hyper

Right now I've got an old Yamaha Electone somethingorother electric organ. Before too long I should have my Yamaha DGX-505 as well. I think they discontinued it, but I've been paying it off for a couple years now so I'm not too surprised.

Posted by Tiptoegecko

I have some Casio keyboard, I forgot what model, but it's nothing special.

Posted by Philsdad

I'm in the market for something like this myself. Right now I just have an old Radio Shack kid's toy basically. It's fun to play but it can't do anything (like record, amplify, hook up to anything at all..) I'd like to save up for something decent though, even if it costs a little bit.

Are you looking to get a full 88 key one? That's what I'd like to get..as well as everything you mentioned (USB, multi-track recording, etc.) Oh and lots of good instruments or the ability to import them (a circus calliope is kinda a must for the stuff I'm gonna be recording.)

Posted by Grave Wisdom

I mess around on keyboard sometimes, but the only one I own currently is some super-ghetto casio type thing that I bought for like $10 about 6 years ago. But yeah, i've always liked Yamaha myself. When/if I buy a good keyboard, it'd probably be a Yamaha or a Korg.

Quoting Philsdad: