Annoying problem.

Posted by Hyper

Ok, I have this extremely annoying problem. While running some programs (I can't list them all, but the most common are WinAMP, AntiVir, and VSO DivX to DVD), my computer will randomly shut itself off. This may happen while the program is running or after it has been closed, but most commonly when it is open. Any idea why this happens? It's been going on since my computer got fixed last, after I had a few viruses and had to have someone else virus scan my harddrive at their house on their computer.

Posted by drumsticks200

Do you have an anti-virus program like nortan or other unknown ones. Some unknown seem to be better than nortan in a way. Well if you dont have an anti-virus I think that's what you need to solve your problem. other then that i dont know what else to help you with because I'm no computer expert. =)

Posted by Hyper

[quote]I can't list them all, but the most common are WinAMP, AntiVir, and VSO DivX to DVD

Of course I have Anti Virus software. My computer SHUTS THE **** OFF WHEN I RUN IT.

:)

Posted by NegativeTrend

Could possibly be due to overheating. Check all your fans and make sure they are working.

Posted by Hyper

My reply to the same suggestion at another board:

I've got three fans running. I can turn on my computer in the morning after 10 hours of rest, run the program for 20 minutes, and have it shut down. Without running the programs it'll last 16+ hours easily.

And in case anyone suggests RAM:

I thought about that, but I have tons (I think 1.5 GB), and I usually have nothing running besides one program when I'm virus scanning or doing a DivX to DVD (Both programs that it'll shut off during).

Posted by Inferno