looking to get into RTS

Posted by Lord of Spam

So far I've stuck to FPS as far as computer games are concerned. I do CS and I've beaten HL 1 and 2, but I kinda want to get into RTS. Problem is that my computer sucks nuts (I played HL2 on someone else's rig). So I need an RTS that is easy to learn the basics of but still fun, and also old enough that a crappy computer can handle it.

Computer in question has 256Mb of ram, a pc2100 mobo (slooooooooow), and a generic intel 1.7GHz processor. It can run games like Warcraft 3 and Half Life just fine, but struggles on anything more advanced than that (Sims 2 almost killed it, for instance).

So, cheap/free (zomg warez) old RTS games that are easy to learn on. any suggestions?

Posted by Echo

Age of Empires II: Age of Kings and the expansion (The Conquerers). Plenty old enough and still one of my favorite RTSs. I started playing RTS with the AoE series. Age of Kings has an unprecedented number of civs (especially compared to, say, Command and Conquer), but they all have the same technology/unit tree for the most part (each civ has 1 unique unit, and they all have certain techs and units disable, plus they each have different special bonuses, so there is still strategy in which one you chose) so you'll learn the game quickly.

You can probably also buy it super cheap now.

Posted by brownoystercult

Quoting Lord of Spam: So far I've stuck to FPS as far as computer games are concerned. I do CS and I've beaten HL 1 and 2, but I kinda want to get into RTS. Problem is that my computer sucks nuts (I played HL2 on someone else's rig). So I need an RTS that is easy to learn the basics of but still fun, and also old enough that a crappy computer can handle it.

Computer in question has 256Mb of ram, a pc2100 mobo (slooooooooow), and a generic intel 1.7GHz processor. It can run games like Warcraft 3 and Half Life just fine, but struggles on anything more advanced than that (Sims 2 almost killed it, for instance).