Online Rankings...

Posted by BLUNTMASTER X

I presume this is the most fitting board.

Basically. I've been thinking - does the whole idea of an online ranking system at times ruin gameplay in online games? I've been a veteran of quite a few games where online ranking play an integral part - Mario Kart, Metroid, Age of Empires II/III, Tetris, and I've seen many matches of Halo 2. One thing is common in all of them - most people are more concerned about preserving a good rating than playing for the experience and enjoyment. Mario Kart DS is a prime example - apparantly, in 60% of matches, people simply disconnect when losing so that another loss is not added to their record. Many people in Halo get aggravated and sweary when they know they can't win, and they're not going to improve their rating. Although I try to avoid doing so, I have at times actually felt apprehensive about losing myself, simply because I'd go down a notch on a pathetic rating system.

Games like Unreal Tournament and World of Warcraft - without rankings - seem to be taken less seriously, simply because people know losing is a part of the game, and is usually without any consequences. Losing is all part of the fun. It's a learning process - but if it costs a player a black mark on their ratings card, they'll probably leave before the game's over.

I know the systems can actually allow people to be paired off with people of their own skill and prowess, but sometimes they seem to cause more trouble than they're worth.

Opinions?

Posted by GameMiestro

[quote=The X]Mario Kart DS is a prime example - apparantly, in 60% of matches, people simply disconnect when losing so that another loss if not added to their record.

No, it's not, because if people disconnect, they automatically get losses added to their profile. I do agree that online rankings are a bad idea in general, because there will always be people that organize matches to boost up their rankings (IEATPOO is a good example, from Metroid).